Hondata

Hondata User Forum
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:34 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 105
Ok guys, after looking into which ECU I will use on my car, I decide to use the PRA because the KPro III has 8 analog and 1 digital input which i can use for the wideband sensor so why go through the trouble of simple wiring in trying to use the PRC ECU when i can just use my own and can always go back to it if i have any problems. . .anyway. . .

started this back and forth email between myself and a hondata dealer in P.R (the closet to me) and he send me this online form. . .
http://www.hondata.com/kproecuinfoform.html

when i got to the bottom i saw this "PRA ECUs are for use in European Civic Type Rs only. These must be prepared by a European dealer. Hondata will not install K-Pro into any PRA ECUs."

how do i get around this? its kindda crazy, we import all of our vehicles so we have a bit of all types (JDM, UKDM, USDM, Korea, India, German etc) am i to send the ecu to the UK?

this is the dealer i am currently communicating with:

Import Performance
Road 130 Km 4.9
Arecibo PR 614 Puerto Rico
787-820-6548
mpg5308@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:03 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Posts: 6052
Location: Torrance, Ca
First, what vehicle do you have? You should use the correct ECU for the vehicle to save re-wiring etc.

_________________
Hondata


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:10 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 105
Hondata wrote:
First, what vehicle do you have? You should use the correct ECU for the vehicle to save re-wiring etc.



I have a 2005 Honda Civic Type R (EP3) UKDM which is now located thousands of miles away from the UK.

The car is currently in the stock trim.

I was only thinking about wiring to get the datalog feature with the wideband from the PRC ECU, but now with the KPro III i can use the input i no longer have to go this route.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:10 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Posts: 6052
Location: Torrance, Ca
Use the PRA ECU. We'll install it into the PRA since it is a Euro vehicle. The statement on the socketing form about Hondata not installing into PRA ECUs was because US dealers would get PRA ECUs, get us to install KPros, then send them to Europe, and then when the customer had a problem there was no local support for them.

_________________
Hondata


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:52 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 105
Hondata wrote:
Use the PRA ECU. We'll install it into the PRA since it is a Euro vehicle. The statement on the socketing form about Hondata not installing into PRA ECUs was because US dealers would get PRA ECUs, get us to install KPros, then send them to Europe, and then when the customer had a problem there was no local support for them.


Ok. So im all set, i will continue to deal with the dealer which i posted in my first post.

Import Performance
Road 130 Km 4.9
Arecibo PR 614 Puerto Rico
787-820-6548
mpg5308@gmail.com

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:19 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 105
Ok guys, I'm ready to send me ECU to be KProed but cant seem to get in contact with the guy in P.R.

Is there any other way of me ordering this unit?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:44 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Posts: 12675
Location: Hondata
You must go though one of our dealers


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group