Is my TPS sensor bad?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Post Reply
FuriousYellowSi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:23 pm

Is my TPS sensor bad?

Post by FuriousYellowSi » Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:33 pm

Hello there I have a 2005 civic with a K20a swap.. I noticed my car started running very badly, with the engine cutting out and almost uncontrollable while accelerating. I connected my laptop to the ECU to see if I could find something wrong in the Kpro datalog, and I noticed my TPS maxed out at 30% and thats with manually pulling on the throttle cable so adjustment is not an issue.. I have heard of other components affecting the TPS signal because they are on the same circuit so I tried disconnecting my 02 sensor and disabling it in Kpro, but no difference... I also noticed when I enable ODBII, I get an ELD high voltage code. Could that affect this? If my TPS is bad, should it get a signal at all? When I hit the throttle with the engine off but ignition on, it goes smoothly from 0 to 30% but just wont go higher. I also tried adjusting it in KPro under the Knock/TPS tab but still didnt work. Thanks for any help!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18083
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:40 pm

It's time to buy a new TPS sensor.

FuriousYellowSi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:23 pm

Post by FuriousYellowSi » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:37 am

The ELD error won't affect the TPS reading at all?

kb58
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:53 pm

Post by kb58 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:31 pm

Correct.
Mid-engine K24 turbo Locost, http://www.midlana.com

Post Reply