Kpro4 wideband lambda

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Malkolm666
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:06 am

Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Malkolm666 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:58 am

Can you explain more about the new wideband lambda in the kpro4?

Can we use like a bosch 4.2U to a narrowband ecu? Like the PRA?



"Better wideband support

The KPro4 can process a wideband lambda input (either analog or digital) and allow the ECU to run in closed loop from an aftermarket wideband without requiring the stock o2 sensor."

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8767
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Hondata » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:15 am

What is the bosch 4.2U ?

With the KPro4 you can connect a wideband lambda with analog or digital output to the KPro4, and the KPro4 will send the lambda to the ECU. The ECU can then run in closed loop from the narrowband (PRA calibrations) or factory wideband (PRB calibrations) or from the external wideband (both PRA and PRB calibrations).

eg For a Euro CTR with a PRA ECU and PRA (or PRB) calibration you can run in closed loop from the external wideband.

eg For a US S2000 with PRB ECU and PRA (or PRB) calibration you can run in closed loop from the external wideband.

In both cases the external wideband can be used for datalogging (as it could with the KPro3).

Also in both cases the factory o2 sensor can be removed completely.

We've tried to put the same features in both the PRA and PRB calibrations now, so there is not much difference between them in features, but since the PRB calibrations are designed to run from a wideband sensor rather than the narrowband like the PRA, closed loop operation was better in our testing using a PRB calibration.
Hondata

Malkolm666
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:06 am

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Malkolm666 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:07 pm

Is it possible to use the oem PRB lambda with the PRA ecu?

Sorry, I meant the Bosch 4.9 LSU sensor that for example Innovate use in their widebandsolutions.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8767
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Hondata » Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:59 pm

A wideband has two parts - the o2 sensor and the wideband controller. They must be matched to work.

The PRB ECU has the wideband controller inside, and will only work with the Honda o2 sensor.
Hondata

LK7R
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Prague / Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by LK7R » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:19 am

Hondata wrote: eg For a Euro CTR with a PRA ECU and PRA (or PRB) calibration you can run in closed loop from the external wideband.
Does that mean, that we can "target" A/F for closed loop using external WB on PRA ECU?

So for example (setting "Target Lambda ECT Low/High"):
a) run 15,2 A/F for economy while in closed loop

OR

b) set closed loop to be switched all the time ON and run lets say 12,8 A/F allways and everywhere (track car)

Thanks

Dan

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8767
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Hondata » Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:46 am

The PRA will use the Target Lambda (low and high by ECT) tables.

The KPro doesn't currently support running closed loop at full load.
Hondata

LK7R
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Prague / Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by LK7R » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:31 am

Hondata wrote:The KPro doesn't currently support running closed loop at full load.
Does that mean "it is on the roadmap"? ;-) Thanks for your reply. V4 seems to be worth the upgrade (big step forward! Especialy on PRA)

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8767
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Hondata » Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:37 am

Yes, we'll look at WOT closed loop at some point.

We made an effort to have the same features in the PRA as the PRB.
Hondata

LK7R
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Prague / Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by LK7R » Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:56 am

Hondata wrote:Yes, we'll look at WOT closed loop at some point.

We made an effort to have the same features in the PRA as the PRB.
Good to hear, keep up the good work!

vteckiller
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:53 am

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by vteckiller » Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:02 pm

Hondata wrote:Yes, we'll look at WOT closed loop at some point.

We made an effort to have the same features in the PRA as the PRB.
when you went to this update please???

05typeR
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by 05typeR » Sun Jan 11, 2015 3:02 am

Will the nitrous outputs on a PRA work with the PRA ecu on kpro4?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17943
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Spunkster » Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:39 am

We have not made any changes to the nitrous outputs. These are based on the circuitry inside the ECU and a software change cannot change these.

jbt
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:42 am

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by jbt » Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:08 am

For a engine conversion where the harness is to be made, is it better to add wires for the honda wideband sensor or go for a wideband like PLX Gen 4 if one has a prb ecu with kpro4?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17943
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:14 am

That is really completely up to you. Either should work equally well.

jbt
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:42 am

Re: Kpro4 wideband lambda

Post by jbt » Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:51 pm

Got my self a PLX as it is easier to connect than rework the harness. What is the preferred way of connecting it? Analog or digital?

Post Reply