Ignition cut input

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Post Reply
mikehhhhhhh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:50 pm

Ignition cut input

Post by mikehhhhhhh » Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:18 am

I have an external closed-loop gearbox ECU.

I need to cut ignition for shifting and have no desire to use the built-in flatshift functionality.

This gearbox ecu has a couple of options for ignition cut - either a 5v feed pulled to ground for the duration of ignition cut, or a direct ignition coil cut.

It seems to me that asking the ECU to cut the ignition seems like the safest, cleanest option but is there an input I can use to cut the ignition for as long as the input is grounded (I believe the flatshift input is a fixed duration?).

Or will any ignition cut functionality act the same as simply cutting the power to the coils anyway?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17574
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Ignition cut input

Post by Spunkster » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:56 am

Have you read the info in the help file for this?

http://www.hondata.com/help/kmanager/se ... =shift+cut

mikehhhhhhh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Ignition cut input

Post by mikehhhhhhh » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:39 pm

I have, but they do not answer my question, hence posting here.

I need a reduction in torque for as long as I pull an input, because I’m looking for a closed loop solution - ie. my flatshift Ecu requests a torque reduction until it knows the next gear has been selected.

The documentation suggests that the input is momentary and from there only a fixed delay is possible.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17574
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Ignition cut input

Post by Spunkster » Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:21 am

That is how it works.

mikehhhhhhh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Ignition cut input

Post by mikehhhhhhh » Tue Mar 26, 2019 5:00 pm

Sure and I fully understand that the fixed delay strategy doesn’t do what I want.

My question was whether there are any other inputs that can achieve what I’m looking for ie. a ignition or fuel cut, or any means or cutting torque for an arbitrary amount of time.

I can’t be the only one that’s wanted this, it seems like closed loop is the only real safe way to run a manually activated sequential.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17574
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Ignition cut input

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:11 am

I'm sorry but there is not an option like this.

Post Reply