Heavy miss/cut out as I cross over from vacuum to boost

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Heavy miss/cut out as I cross over from vacuum to boost

Post by Jaker »

I cannot get my engine to accept any boost. As soon as I transit past zero vacuum, it bucks and spits and will not work. I fear damaging my freshly rebuilt motor, so I always let off when this happens.

The only thing that I can think of is that I messed with the settings under the options tab - settings - units:

I set the vacuum unit to " (inches of vacuum like the readings on my boost gauge), vacuum unit base to atmospheric and the pressure units to PSI and the pressure unit base to atmospheric.

Here is the tune (using a Motorola 2.5bar sensor) and a datalog:
Attachments
Wagon1Nov21.skl
(33.71 KiB) Downloaded 79 times
may8home.s3d
(1.58 MiB) Downloaded 83 times
Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker »

I've played with it a bit, and now know that the settings in the Options menu are not the cause. Here's the most current version and still no dice.
Attachments
WagonMay8b.skl
(37.44 KiB) Downloaded 58 times
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19345
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Post by Spunkster »

Why are your intake temps so high?
Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker »

Non-intercooled M62 blower. I think because it's not getting to open up much it's getting hot.
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19345
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Post by Spunkster »

Do you have a map relocator so the map sensor is actually seeing boost?
Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker »

Yes. MAP sensor is located inside the ECU (Motorola 2.5bar mounted on a small plate, hard wired into the ECU), and vacuum line goes to the intake manifold post blower (between the blower and the head). Datalogs are showing boost occasionally, but only a couple PSI, and that's usually when I let off.

This is the way I ran the car back in 2006 (last time the setup was running) and it worked perfectly.
Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker »

After much troubleshooting and part swapping my trouble ended up being spark plug wires. I didn't try that right off the bat because the wires (Magnecor 8.5mm) only had about 20 hours of driving on them, tops!
locash
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 11:27 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by locash »

We only use OEM wires, even on high hp cars..
Locash Racing, LLC
Hondata Sales and Tuning
Dynapack 4000 2wd Dyno
In-Shop CNC Machining and Product Manufacturing
scttydb411
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:10 am

Post by scttydb411 »

oem or ngk wires. msd as a last choice.
been there done that...spent hours troubleshooting one of my oldest customer's car and didn't check the wires since they were ngk and this is 5th high hp car i've tuned for him. it turned out he was using the same wires from the first car I tuned for him 5+ years ago.

don't forget to rule out the simple and normal checklist items.
HONDATA DEALER/TUNING IN ATLANTA!!
DIGITALBOXTUNING
678-614-3596
Post Reply