Protection > Radiator fan control

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
AllMotorMatt
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:06 pm

Protection > Radiator fan control

Post by AllMotorMatt » Sun Jun 27, 2010 2:25 pm

Greetings!
I seem to be having a lapse in judgment here when attempting to use the radiator fan control under protection.

I was just trying to test it and set both parameters to 0 and no dice. I then went through trying to set temp to 80 and max speed to 100, etc and no dice.

AM I missing a glaring omission?
93 DA
Ls/Vtec
S300

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18012
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:36 am

The DA may not have the wiring that goes to the ECU from the fan. You will have to wire in a relay and run wires from the ECU to the relay to the fan.

HeitorVTiBR
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 10:13 pm

Post by HeitorVTiBR » Tue Jun 29, 2010 9:36 pm

Control the fan on the S300, it works without any major external modifications?
only change that will work?
even in s300j + p08j?

thanks

Revspeed
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:22 am

Post by Revspeed » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:43 am

HeitorVTiBR wrote:Control the fan on the S300, it works without any major external modifications?
only change that will work?
even in s300j + p08j?

thanks
i know for sure on 92-00 civic s and integra
as long as your fan is wire stock
it works perfect :wink: :wink:

AllMotorMatt
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:06 pm

Post by AllMotorMatt » Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:01 am

Revspeed wrote:
HeitorVTiBR wrote:Control the fan on the S300, it works without any major external modifications?
only change that will work?
even in s300j + p08j?

thanks
i know for sure on 92-00 civic s and integra
as long as your fan is wire stock
it works perfect :wink: :wink:
Well if this is the case could you post up some sample parameters that would work? No matter what values I specify it doesn't seem to work.
All wiring is stock for the fan.
93 DA
Ls/Vtec
S300

kmaz93da
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:12 pm

.

Post by kmaz93da » Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:32 am

it does not work on our da's,i went threw same thing.. fan turns on by fan control switch grounds wire to fan, not ecu, you can wire in relay and it will work, or buy a low temp fan switch from mitshimoto or spoon and fan will turn on at 170deg..

Johnny_9
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:12 am

Wire in a Relay for Fan Control

Post by Johnny_9 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:34 am

Spunkster wrote:The DA may not have the wiring that goes to the ECU from the fan. You will have to wire in a relay and run wires from the ECU to the relay to the fan.
Appreciate if explain this more. Do you have to put in an additional Relay or use the existing relay in the underhood fuse box (Civic 96-98 OB2a).

Also is an additional relay is used, does it needs to run after the ELD, so the ELD see when the fan is on and the ECU can adjust idle (thru the IACV duty cycle?)

If you do wire in the relay, will the "FANC" sensor show "on" when the radiator fan is running?

What is the the voltage out from FANC (A27) when the fan is triggered - is it 12V?

Post Reply