Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
forevertrj
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:13 pm
Location: Victoria BC
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by forevertrj » Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:03 am

On my smanager i can only see rpm and map pressure there is no pulldown that has oil pressure I'll screen shot my application tonight maybe it's a bug I've found

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8776
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by Hondata » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:08 am

Do you have an oil pressure input as an analog input?
Hondata

forevertrj
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:13 pm
Location: Victoria BC
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by forevertrj » Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:06 pm

No I guess I don't, I've read lots of help files None of witch state that you need to use the analog inputs, can't hondata access the VTEC pressure sensor or the stock oil pressure sensor? I will make a fake analog input when j get home and see

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8776
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by Hondata » Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:23 pm

The oil pressure switch is not connected to the ECU, and provides an on/off signal at very low pressure. The VTEC pressure switch is grounded except in VTEC, and again is only on/off.
Hondata

forevertrj
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:13 pm
Location: Victoria BC
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by forevertrj » Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:25 pm

good to know!, any recommendations for the best oil pressure sensor? i saw there was an option for a PLX sensor, and I just tried adding a sensor to the analog input page and i could see it on the protections page after making it! can't remember how I forgot that I had to add an analog input but I've searched lots of criteria but couldn't find a blurb on it, maybe add some text to the help file stating that you need to wire sensors to the analog input on the hondata board and relating it to the protections tab. thanks for adding 2 more inputs for protection though!!! is that the maximum limit? or is it hard to add more? like 8 slots for custom protection?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8776
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by Hondata » Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:31 am

For pressure I used the autometer 2246 sensor directly wired. See http://www.hondata.com/help/smanager/an ... essure.htm

There's not much room in the ROM to add more protection inputs.
Hondata

forevertrj
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:13 pm
Location: Victoria BC
Contact:

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by forevertrj » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:45 pm

thanks so much! this has given me a few ideas and plans for my future setup and safety features.

Lyle_57IAL
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by Lyle_57IAL » Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:55 pm

Hi Hondata thank you very much !

Although how do the advanced protections work if you are not using the "and" or "or" functions. If you have it set as nothing will that mean each box will effectively act as its own protection ?

Sir[Kneighf]
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:14 pm

Re: Advanced Protection - More Strategies (quantity, 8 inputs)

Post by Sir[Kneighf] » Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:25 am

Currently our board is entering production, it will use a Arduino to receive the inputs for the extra sensors and will only outup one "master safe" that can be used by the analog inputs "advanced protection".

I am facing dificulties with the analog inputs as I can't see any voltage in Hondata :/ but I will create a new topic for it.

Post Reply