Wideband on ELD input

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
beanbooger
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:25 pm

Wideband on ELD input

Post by beanbooger » Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:36 am

See the blue highlighted text below. When would it be appropriate to remove R136 and R138? I have a Hondata-modified S300V3 ECU with the OBD2A connector, so I will be coming in on D16. Does that matter with respect to removing R136 and R138? I want to be able to run closed loop with target AFR tables, at least at low boost/part load. Thanks!
Attachments
2017-06-07_7-01-01.jpg
2017-06-07_7-01-01.jpg (255.2 KiB) Viewed 1094 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17992
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by Spunkster » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:34 am

D16 is not a valid input,

Those resistors only refer to using D10 as an input.

beanbooger
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by beanbooger » Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:55 am

So even though my Hondata ECU has an OBD2A connector (meaning that I don't use any adapters between my stock '98 civic EX OBD2A wiring harness and the Hondata ECU), I don't use D16 instead of D10 as per the attached chart? That is odd because I am definitely running Boost Control on A7 instead of A11 and that works just fine. Can you please clarify?
2017-06-07_11-43-20.jpg
2017-06-07_11-43-20.jpg (88.74 KiB) Viewed 1087 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17992
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by Spunkster » Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:27 pm

Yes you must use the correct pin based on that chart, but I'm referring to OBD1 pinouts as they are listed in the software. It is still an OBD1 ECU

beanbooger
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by beanbooger » Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:51 pm

So what you are saying is: on my ECU with it's OBD2A connector, I would wire the Wideband to D16. If my ECU had an OBD1 connector, I would wire it to D10. But on my ECU OBD2A D16 is electronically the same as OBD1 D10, right? I think it is, which DOES make D16 a valid input for THIS particular ECU, correct? Even though in the software, I still have to select D10 as the input, that makes sense.

Which brings me back to my original question. What is the deal with removing R136 and R138? How will I know if they need to be removed?

Thanks for hanging with me on this one!

TTR
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:48 pm

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by TTR » Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:58 pm

When you use the ELD pin the displayed A/F will bottom out around 12:1. So removing those two resistors will allow it to display down to whatever your wideband reads at 0 volts. It typically lowers the amount of voltage offset you need to sync the wideband to the software. When I use the ELD input for a wideband I always pull those resistors.

beanbooger
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Wideband on ELD input

Post by beanbooger » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:58 pm

Excellent and helpful answer. Thank you very much!

Post Reply