V1.1.1.0 problem

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

V1.1.1.0 problem

Post by ridewhencan » Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:00 pm

All I did was download the new version and then upload a new calibration with slight fuel changes. When uploading, my nitrous solenoids cycled on and off and the upload failed. I then disabled Nit/Aux1 and tried again but the upload failed again and the prior calibration would not start the car. The fuel solenoid was warm and the nitrous solenoid was hot.

I disconnected the nitrous wires, pulled the sparkplugs, which were dry, disconnected and re-connected the battery but the motor would only light briefly and then die. Finally, I uploaded the stock Accord (h22a) calibration and after several tries, it started with the gas pedal floored. Here's the datalog of when it finally started.

I was hesitant to download the new version since everything was working so well under V1.1.0.0. Nitrous activation was working (after having fried and replaced a Nitrous solenoid) with the input and the output inverted.

Why would it be any different under V1.1.1.0?

Less important but still of concern is what could be the reason for the hard start (took an hour) after the failed upload? I thought I had flooded the engine but the plugs were dry and the car would only start after many tries with the gas floored? This happened last time I had a failed upload as well.
Attachments
12-12-05 hard start accd map.s2d
(204.53 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18008
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:24 pm

When this happens, close the program, and reopen it, then open the calibration and try uploading it again wihtout making any changes. Sometimes when you use a new version of software teh calibration will fail to upload the first time...this is not uncommon an dall you do is simply upload again.

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Post by ridewhencan » Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:06 pm

I'll rewire the nitrous and try again.

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Suggestion didn't work

Post by ridewhencan » Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:22 pm

I connected the solenoids, enabled Nit/Aux1 the same as on the prior version, uploaded and the solenoids switched on. I immediately turned the ignition off. I then uploaded again. I did not hear the solenoid click but I have a solid CEL and the car barely idles or revs. The first time the solenoid was warm, the second time not. The CEL comes on, as it should, when the key is first turned. It clicks off for a second and then comes back on.

How do I get version 1.1.0.0 back?

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Here?s what I?ve got:

Post by ridewhencan » Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:53 am

Calibration with nitrous disabled, the solenoids activate with ignition regardless of whether the activation switch is on or off. There?s no CEL.

Second calibration with nitrous enabled, with input and output reversed as worked before, the solenoids don?t activate but I get a constant CEL.

This only happened after my download of the last version.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18008
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:40 am

Can you post the calibrations please

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Post by ridewhencan » Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:40 pm

Attached is the calibration I'm having the problem with. I've tried to use it both with nitrous activated and not activated with the results posted above. Thank you for taking a look at this.

PS I am attaching this from my workstation, to which I had copied the calibration from my laptop. Let me know if I need to post it from the laptop. Thanks.
Attachments
12-12-05.skl
(16.52 KiB) Downloaded 55 times

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Post by ridewhencan » Wed Dec 14, 2005 7:00 am

These are the calibrations from the laptop. I suppose they are substantially similar to the one already posted but just in case . . . . The "12-12-05" activates the nitrous solenoids and the "12-12-05 nitrous enabled" throws a permanent CEL. I'm driving now with the 12-12-05 and the nitrous unwired.

I wonder if I should uninstall and reinstall Smanager but I'd appreciate your imput first. Dan
Attachments
12-12-05.skl
(16.53 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
12-12-05 nitrous enabled.skl
(16.53 KiB) Downloaded 46 times

RMS
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 12:35 am
Location: Visalia, CA

Post by RMS » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:10 am

knock sensor is not disabled on the first one! silly rabbit :)
RaVer Motorsports (559) 733-4711
ravermotorsports@earthlink.net

ridewhencan
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: CT

Fixed.

Post by ridewhencan » Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:21 am

RMS wrote:knock sensor is not disabled on the first one! silly rabbit :)
Uhh, (makes change, runs to car, tests with "RMS Style" led test light) well I'll be!! You're right! That was the cause of the CEL and now everything is copasetic.

I freaked out after the first failed upload when I should have just closed the program, reopened it, then upload the calibration again without making changes per Spunkster above. Hope this thread is useful to others.

I still don't know why the second one opens the solenoids but maybe something got corrupted during the failed upload. No matter now.

Thanks Spunkster and RMS for your help.

PS - I did all that stuff in the first post while wearing a suit, in a superior court parking lot at 20 degrees. Some times I feel like such an idiot. Guess that's why I'm a lawyer and not a tuner. :)

Locked