p28 conversion question

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

p28 conversion question

Post by pvt_awol » Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:43 pm

I'm a noob (just wanted to point that out first)

I'm getting ready to order my S300 system, and I plan on installing it into a virgin p28 that I have. I've searched the site high and low, and I cannot find an answer, but I'm hoping it is very simple.

When the S300 is installed, will the p28 have the option to function for a DOHC engine? Or is there other modification needed to run a DOHC combination.

I'm running an LS/VTEC with boost, and before I did the VTEC conversion I ran the stock LS ecu. When I got my VTEC head, I was told to "chip" my p28 to run the DOHC. I put a turbo on the car, so I decided to get some tuning, and Hondata seems to be the system of choice for someone like me on a budget. I'm worried I won't order enough parts, or something simple and stupid, and my ECU won't function properly.

So, help a noob out.

eikki
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:35 am

Post by eikki » Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:56 am


pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

Post by pvt_awol » Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:01 pm

^



...... so, where in that write up does it answer MY question? I'm still clueless.

Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker » Mon Jan 02, 2006 2:04 am

You won't need any "extra" parts to run a DOHC Vtec motor with your P28 ECU, other than what comes with the S300 kit.

pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

Post by pvt_awol » Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:07 am

^

Perfect. Thank you.

pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

Post by pvt_awol » Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:04 pm

I downloaded the software for the S300, to try to familiarize myself with it. Having said that: It looks like I can turn VTEC on and off, and adjust my Rev limiter (I assumed as much) so, here is my question:



If I don't get the VTEC head installed before I install my Hondata (due, of course, to money restriction) can I use the P28 with Hondata to still control my LS setup? I assume it should work ok. If anyone forsees any complication, please let me know.

smracing
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 5:38 pm

Post by smracing » Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:24 pm

good luck getting answer to that I ask the same thing a month ago.

Jaker
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by Jaker » Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:53 pm

Yes, the P28 will be perfectly capable of running a non-Vtec motor. You can either turn the Vtec off in the S300 software, or if you want to use the extended rev range of the Vtec maps, you can set things up to switch the Vtec on, but disable the Vtec pressure switch errors (I think that's how it works).
Last edited by Jaker on Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:32 am

Jaker wrote:Yes, the P28 will be perfectly capable of running a non-Vtec motor. You can either turn the Vtec off in the S300 software, or if you want to use the extended rev range of the Vtec maps, you can set things up to switch the Vtec on, but disable the Vtec pressure switch erros (I think that's how it works).
He is correct

pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

Post by pvt_awol » Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:36 pm

Awesome. Well, while we're at it, and I'm seconds away from ordering the kit, can you guys give me an idea of how much different shops charge to modify the ECU? (above the $590 price tag of the s300)

I really want to do the work myself, but if it's only like 30 bucks or so more, then I might as well get a shop to do it. Any ideas? Also, since I'm just going to mail order the thing, any opinions on a good shop to order from?

pvt_awol
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:27 pm

Post by pvt_awol » Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:44 pm

*bump*

just wondering if anyone has any good shops to order this from. I'm looking at this guy, but he wants me to buy it through ebay, instead of straight through him. What do y'all think?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Hondata- ... dZViewItem

Locked