s300 tuning woes...

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
flip1199
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 1:10 pm

s300 tuning woes...

Post by flip1199 » Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:28 pm

Well i setup my base map for my car and got it to idle around 1500rpm at around 14-15 a/f. here's the problem i ran into. with the car fully warmed up and idleing the a/f ratio would jump to 17-19 i blip the throttle and it goes back down to 14-15. any ideas on why this would happen. also it appears i can't build any boost. and for some reason around 5k rpm's it studders and the a/f seems to be on par. another thing i noticed is while applying full throttle i watched my autometer boost gauge rise up to 5psi but my datalogs showed the highest it got was -3.5in :?:

setup goes as follows:
built h23a1 10:1 cr
t3/t67 .63ar
1000cc injectors
255lph pump
a/w intercooler
M&W pro-10
Attachments
4-13-06.skl
calibration
(15.95 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
3rd trip.s2d
datalog of run
(306.69 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18056
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:21 am

It sounds like you are running in closed loop usign the wideband. How do you have everything wired, what inputs and outputs are you using on the wideband and ecu? What Wideband are you using?

flip1199
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 1:10 pm

Post by flip1199 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:25 pm

its a plx m300. i wired it like the instructions said....

white signal output wire of the plx to o2 signal input.
and a 1k ohm resistor between 12v heater and heater ground.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18056
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:41 pm

The instructions specifically state you cannot run in closed loop if you input the wideband signal into the ECU's O2 input.

Reread the instructions: http://www.hondata.com/techplxwiring.html

flip1199
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 1:10 pm

Post by flip1199 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:51 pm

so in parameter, just unclick closed loop operation and i should be fine?

and btw, i was actually going off the plx instructions that came with the device not yours, as i installed this prior to running hondata

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18056
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:25 am

It is recommended to run in closed loop. I would highly recommend following the instructions posted on our website and wire it with the Wideband input going into the ELD and the narrowband going into the O2 input of the ecu.

flip1199
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 1:10 pm

Post by flip1199 » Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:13 am

excuse my ignorance but what is eld?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18056
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:13 pm

ELD is the electrical load detector....it is an input on the ecu.

Locked