PLX and capacitor

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
Zoomie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:05 pm

PLX and capacitor

Post by Zoomie » Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:44 am

I've got a PLX M300 ready for install now and I'm wondering if the included caps are necessary for this application (w/ S300j)? I've searched the forums and not seen any mention of this...

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:26 am

There is no need to install anything extra beyond what is in the instructions on our website.

turbosi92
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:08 pm
Contact:

Post by turbosi92 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:30 pm

Spunkster wrote:There is no need to install anything extra beyond what is in the instructions on our website.
What have you found as the best ground?

From your directions...
Black Ground - Attach to solid chassis ground

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Aug 02, 2006 4:32 pm

Anything on the chassis that is substantial

Zoomie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:05 pm

Post by Zoomie » Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:25 pm

Thanks, Spunkster

Zoomie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:05 pm

Post by Zoomie » Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:04 pm

Okay, I'm confused again...

In the tech support section under wiring there are two entries for the PLX Wideband: "PLX Wideband" and "PLX Wideband Wiring". The former says to install the capacitors while the later has no mention of the capacitors. So which one is it?

Also, I've noticed in SManager, under Parameters -> Closed Loop -> Options, that there is a check box to "Disable O2 Heater". Does this mean that you could select this and not have to wire in the resistor when using the PLX? (Does this just ignore the error or does it actually turn off the heater circuit?)
(As a side note: in the former entry, listed above, for the O2 resistor it says 20 Ohm 10 Watt, while the later says 1K Ohm. Again, why the inconsistency?)

Appreciate your help with this; thanks.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:16 am

You do not need the capacitors

Zoomie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:05 pm

Post by Zoomie » Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:19 pm

Thanks for the response Spunkster. What about the second para, though?...
Zoomie wrote: Also, I've noticed in SManager, under Parameters -> Closed Loop -> Options, that there is a check box to "Disable O2 Heater". Does this mean that you could select this and not have to wire in the resistor when using the PLX? (Does this just ignore the error or does it actually turn off the heater circuit?)
(As a side note: in the former entry, listed above, for the O2 resistor it says 20 Ohm 10 Watt, while the later says 1K Ohm. Again, why the inconsistency?)

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:36 am

You can disable the o2 heater, but it's still a good idea to put the resistor across the heater wires.

THe information on the site has been updated....whe incorrect information had been directly copied form the plx website a while back.

Zoomie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:05 pm

Post by Zoomie » Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:57 pm

Thanks again!

Locked