Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Calibrations for S-Manager - Use all calibrations at your own risk (dyno tuning recommended)
Post Reply
locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

Hey guys i am new to hondata
just got a s300 bout a week ago
anyways i have an obd11 1999 prelude
i am in north australia (there are absolutely no tuners here )
so i would really apreciate if you guys could help me out and find out why my basemap doesnt want to run
the guy starts and idles fine
but when i drive it contantly cuts fuel i can only get to about 2k rpm before it drops to idle and so forth
i noticed my ECT was getting higher and higher untill it went 200 plus and went red
whilst it was doing that my AFR was dropping as low as 0.8
anyways im no pro
i have atached the config i am using and a datalog of an atempt of me driving lol
i aprciate any help you guys can give
thank you
miki
Attachments
1999hondapreludevtir.skl
(33.46 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
drive1.s3d
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 142 times

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8881
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by Hondata »

Your TPS is not working. In the Parameters window, go to TPS, Scale TPS and use the Reset button. If it still does not work, it could faulty.
Hondata

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

wow thank you for the fast reply
umm there was no reset button but i hit default
im still getting a cut tho
i have more info that may help
i also have a vafc ii connected
and it used to show the throttle % then i got a skunk 2 intake and TB now the vafc ii only shows 0%
could this by whats happening? would it be worth inializing the vafci ?
thanks heaps for helping man

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

thanks for ur help i just called the mechanic i will get them to replace the tps since they did the intake
cheers ill keep you posted once fitted

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

hey sorry to spam questions
altho i am curious why doesnt my tps work with hondata
when it works with my stock ecu?
is there something im missing thanks

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18172
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by Spunkster »

You need to remove the VAFC, you have the s300 and it will just cause you problems.

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

mmmm i was thinking that
i wouldent have any ideas how to remove it tho as i didnt install it
it woudlent be as simple as one of the plugs on my ecu would it?

also on another note i just did a sonsor check with my vafci and the tps has a voltage just wondering why i cant get a reading?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18172
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by Spunkster »

Take the car to a competent shop to have the VAFC removed.

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

hey guys i just got my car back form the mechanic he fitted a new tps and i now have a tps reading once again
am i safe to put the s300 in now ?
if so what tps setting should i have?
0%
100%
like default
i just dont wnat to ruin the mechanics work and have to go back tomorow lol
thanks guys

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18172
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by Spunkster »

Have you removed the VAFC?

locolopez
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by locolopez »

no not yet
althought s300 is in now
all seems sweet
apart from nasty cold idle and white smoke
haha
cheers guys

burmese434
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:32 pm
Location: ohio
Contact:

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by burmese434 »

Check and see if you map and tps plugs are backwards?

tb144050
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:31 pm

Re: Would love help Getting passed 2k rpm! ^_^

Post by tb144050 »

locolopez wrote:hey guys i just got my car back form the mechanic he fitted a new tps and i now have a tps reading once again
am i safe to put the s300 in now ?
if so what tps setting should i have?
0%
100%
like default
i just dont wnat to ruin the mechanics work and have to go back tomorow lol
thanks guys
Tricky answer: it depends on what you are looking at.

If you are looking at hondata, most of the time you are probably looking at a % of how much pedal you are PUSHING.

If you are reading or calibrating the tps (physically onto the tb), you want to check voltage on the center wire of the 3-wire harness and it should be .45volts when the throttle body is FULLY closed. Also, when the tb is FULLY open, it should be 4.5volts (but my last three tps's always said 3.6ish fully open. One buddy of mine said it will be 4.5volts if the engine is started and the tb is fully open, but I haven't tested that theory)

also, be sure to ask your mechanic what voltage he calibrated the tps to. Anything less than .45 and you will probably have a nasty fuel cut when lightly accelerating(i think)...

--TJ

Post Reply