@Hondata: VSA kicked on even though it's off in the tune

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the 2006-2011 Americas Civic Si
VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

@Hondata: VSA kicked on even though it's off in the tune

Post by VitViper » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:11 pm

Question for Hondata:

I have VSA disabled in the tune and my governor set to 200mph. However at the top of 5th gear at 133-134mph all of a sudden the VSA light blinked on and off real quick and the brakes where applied to slow my car down.

Unfortunately I do not have a datalog of this since this wasn't a datalog session, but any idea why this would happen?

silverspoon1996
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:46 am

Post by silverspoon1996 » Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:11 am

I cant disable my VSA, I can uncheck it but it always stays on unless, I manually shut it off on the dash.

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Post by VitViper » Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:22 am

silverspoon1996 wrote:I cant disable my VSA, I can uncheck it but it always stays on unless, I manually shut it off on the dash.
It's disabled for me before... I can burn rubber off the line and it didn't come on before... But in this instance... freaked me out.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:16 pm

The VSA option in the software controls only the ECU side of the VSA. The setting should match yor vehicle (06 disabled, 07+ enabled). If your vehicle has VSA, then the correct way to disable it is using the button, not by disabling the ECU support.
Hondata

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Post by VitViper » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:08 pm

Hondata wrote:The VSA option in the software controls only the ECU side of the VSA. The setting should match yor vehicle (06 disabled, 07+ enabled). If your vehicle has VSA, then the correct way to disable it is using the button, not by disabling the ECU support.
So I still have to push the button to turn off VSA at high speeds even though I have an 08 Si running an 07-09 MAP based tune with the "VSA enabled" Misc option unchecked?

If that's the case, what does the VSA enabled misc item actually disable? I know I can now burn rubber right off the line without pushing the VSA button.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:50 am

Hondata wrote:The [VSA enabled] setting should match your vehicle (06 disabled, 07+ enabled).
Hondata

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Post by VitViper » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:49 pm

Hondata wrote:
Hondata wrote:The [VSA enabled] setting should match your vehicle (06 disabled, 07+ enabled).
Duh, that makes sense.

On that note... SHOULD that option have any effect (disabling VSA) if I uncheck it in my 08?

maiku
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:03 pm

Post by maiku » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:52 pm

I have an 07 and ran into issues with the VSA kicking on when I was on the road course. The box was definitely unchecked but my light on the dash was kicking on during hard turns. That was when I first got flashpro. I haven't been back to the track since.
Does that mean I have to put my switch back in? :( I was so happy to take it out so I can finally put my fog light switch there since there's only one slot. :cry:

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:04 am

Please read my last two posts. If you have an 07 then VSA should be enabled.
Hondata

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Post by VitViper » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:29 am

Hondata wrote:Please read my last two posts. If you have an 07 then VSA should be enabled.
Is there another component to the VSA other than the ECU? Because I turned it off in the ECU for my dyno pulls and it never once came on during my 30+ dyno pulls. But obviously it'll come on when driving on the street even with it off in the ECU.

I'm just trying to understand why....

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:20 am

VSA is not in the ECU - it is built into the ABS unit. The ECU just speed limits / reduces power then the VSA tells it to.
Hondata

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Post by VitViper » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:31 am

Hondata wrote:VSA is not in the ECU - it is built into the ABS unit. The ECU just speed limits / reduces power then the VSA tells it to.
Thank you for the clarification.

mucter
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:03 am
Contact:

Post by mucter » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:52 am

wat? the CAN bus doesn't control the ABS unit? I'm going to complain to Honda for not engineering the car correctly. LOL

maiku
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:03 pm

Post by maiku » Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:12 pm

Hondata wrote:Please read my last two posts. If you have an 07 then VSA should be enabled.

VSA is not in the ECU - it is built into the ABS unit. The ECU just speed limits / reduces power then the VSA tells it to.
What is the option there for if it doesn't do anything?
Please clarify the last sentence quoted. It's wording is unclear.

Is it possible because I took my button out and I have the box unchecked on my 07 that it's cutting power or adding brake, etc?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:21 am

maiku wrote:What is the option there for if it doesn't do anything?
For vehicles without VSA.

This is fairly easy folks: If your vehicle has VSA, then enable it; if it does not, then disable it.
Hondata

Locked