Great, now my car's ECU is in recovery mode!

FlashPro Manager software
Post Reply
ModFreak
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:09 pm

Great, now my car's ECU is in recovery mode!

Post by ModFreak » Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:50 am

Urgent help, now after using 1.6.64, my ECU is in recovery mode and I cannot seemed to upload any calibrations nor return to stock. Seemed that my ECU is gone!

Why is the FP giving me so much trouble?

My car is the JDM civic Type R.

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Great, now my car's ECU is in recovery mode!

Post by engjoo » Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:24 am

ModFreak wrote:Urgent help, now after using 1.6.64, my ECU is in recovery mode and I cannot seemed to upload any calibrations nor return to stock. Seemed that my ECU is gone!

Why is the FP giving me so much trouble?

My car is the JDM civic Type R.
This is indeed troubling !

Can Hondata shed more details on this? Apart from ECUs that has been reflashed by another program, there are clearly cases whereby the ECU "died" for no apparent reason after a reflash or RTS by Flashpro.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8755
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:23 am

Can you use the 'send support information to Hondata' from the help menu and post the calibration here?
Hondata

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17933
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:11 am

If it shows it is in recovery mode, try rebooting the laptop, unplugging everything, and disconnect the battery for a minute to allow everything to reset. Then open the FlashPro manager software and go to New Calibration and upload a new calibration to the ECU. That should restore it.

b.r.i.a.n.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:57 am
Location: south florida
Contact:

Post by b.r.i.a.n. » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:31 pm

halp! i'm having the same exact issue right now. i just flashed an ecu that's using the new version of the software and now it's stuck in recovery mode -___-

we've tried everything but the ecu is not being recognized.
2003 Civic Si - 241 whp/166 tq - all motor - sold
2002 S2000 - 234 whp/155 tq - e85 powered :D
2006 TSX - daily driver

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8755
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:59 am

Please do not take your vehicle to a Honda dealer before we have had a chance to look at the ECU.
1. Unplug the FlashPro from the vehicle and disconnect the battery.
2. Download and install the latest version of software from here http://www.hondata.com/downloads.html
3. Connect the battery, plug the FlashPro into the laptop then the vehicle.
4. Describe exactly what you see on the bottom left of the window when you plug the FlashPro into the vehicle.
5. With the FlashPro still connected to the vehicle, use the 'send support information to Hondata' function from the help menu.
Hondata

b.r.i.a.n.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:57 am
Location: south florida
Contact:

Post by b.r.i.a.n. » Fri Oct 08, 2010 9:53 am

i did all that. i sent the info this morning. thanks.
2003 Civic Si - 241 whp/166 tq - all motor - sold
2002 S2000 - 234 whp/155 tq - e85 powered :D
2006 TSX - daily driver

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8755
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Fri Oct 08, 2010 3:17 pm

We'll find out for certain when we get the ECU, but we believe that the cause was from using a particular sequence of software versions and then an upload error. You'd have to use 1.1.6.4 or 1.1.6.5, and then downgrade to 1.1.6.2 or 1.1.6.3, and then also have an error when uploading. Normally the error would not cause a problem but the downgrade results in FlashPro firmware which is newer than the software version.

We have made changes to the software to prevent this from occurring again. You should download the most recent version from http://www.hondata.com/downloads.html
Hondata

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Post by engjoo » Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:27 pm

Hondata wrote:We'll find out for certain when we get the ECU, but we believe that the cause was from using a particular sequence of software versions and then an upload error. You'd have to use 1.1.6.4 or 1.1.6.5, and then downgrade to 1.1.6.2 or 1.1.6.3, and then also have an error when uploading. Normally the error would not cause a problem but the downgrade results in FlashPro firmware which is newer than the software version.

We have made changes to the software to prevent this from occurring again. You should download the most recent version from http://www.hondata.com/downloads.html
Great! Thank you for moving a step towards 'idiot proofing' the FPM!

I hope you are working on plans to improve the FD2 calibration tables.

What we have now are simply not managing the engine well. From what we have gathered, it is really not a tuning issue but rather how the algorithm is working to allow the engine to run optimally under a wide range of conditions.

ModFreak
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:09 pm

Post by ModFreak » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:17 am

engjoo wrote:
Hondata wrote:We'll find out for certain when we get the ECU, but we believe that the cause was from using a particular sequence of software versions and then an upload error. You'd have to use 1.1.6.4 or 1.1.6.5, and then downgrade to 1.1.6.2 or 1.1.6.3, and then also have an error when uploading. Normally the error would not cause a problem but the downgrade results in FlashPro firmware which is newer than the software version.

We have made changes to the software to prevent this from occurring again. You should download the most recent version from http://www.hondata.com/downloads.html
Great! Thank you for moving a step towards 'idiot proofing' the FPM!

I hope you are working on plans to improve the FD2 calibration tables.

What we have now are simply not managing the engine well. From what we have gathered, it is really not a tuning issue but rather how the algorithm is working to allow the engine to run optimally under a wide range of conditions.
Yep, hopefully Hondata can give us Asia FD2R a proper calibration that can touch on all the tables as well as stable running of the engine.

Post Reply