I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Post Reply
black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Thu May 02, 2013 7:09 am

The dealer , didn't want to sell to me K pro, becuase I don't live in the US. Saying that it's hondata policy.

Is this true ? I don't know what's the point of this or if he made an excuse not to sell it for me.


I'm not sure if this posted at the right section.
Thanks.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8781
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Hondata » Thu May 02, 2013 8:01 am

First, where are you? Second, where was the dealer?

Our US dealers are prohibited from selling outside the US, in which case what the dealer told you was correct.
Hondata

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Thu May 02, 2013 8:56 am

I'm from Kuwait, there is no way for me to get hondata, as there are no dealers around at all.

Strange my friends got hondata for the their B/H engines online.

But it seems hard to get K pro.

Can I ask why is this ?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18016
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Spunkster » Thu May 02, 2013 9:32 am

There is a dealer in the United Arab Emirates. They should be able to get this for you. The ECU would have to be sent here for installation, unless you are purchasing a brand new ECU with K-Pro through them.

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Thu May 02, 2013 10:02 am

Spunkster wrote:There is a dealer in the United Arab Emirates. They should be able to get this for you. The ECU would have to be sent here for installation, unless you are purchasing a brand new ECU with K-Pro through them.
Exactly , I have no ecu.

Beside , I have no idea what is the UAE website ( if they have) , can you provide me link to it ?

I don't get it , why I can't just buy it from any online dealer ?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18016
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Spunkster » Thu May 02, 2013 10:37 am

The dealer's information is listed on our website at http://www.hondata.com/dealers.html

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Thu May 02, 2013 10:51 am

Their website is dead.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18016
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Spunkster » Thu May 02, 2013 12:32 pm

Try emailing them and see if they will respond to you.

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Thu May 02, 2013 12:58 pm

Ok I did.

What if they didn't respond ?

I mean what the difference if I bought here or there ?

I see no point of this complications.

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Sun May 05, 2013 9:12 am

Ok, I got a respond from them.

New Prb ecu with k pro + shipping is about 1650$.

This is a joke, right ?

You guys have issues on marketing or hate the outer world.

I can buy AEM which have greater featuers at lower price.
No hard feelings, but you need to fix your marketing issues, if you want to expand.

Thanks for the answers.

Nazul
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:15 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Nazul » Mon May 06, 2013 7:45 am

Good luck installing it on a non US car:

This product fits the following vehicles:
2002 to 2004 Acura RSX 2.0L VTEC
2002 to 2004 Acura RSX Type S 2.0L VTEC
2001 to 2005 Honda Civic DX, LX 1.7L
2001 to 2005 Honda Civic EX 1.7L VTEC
2002 to 2005 Honda Civic Si 2.0L VTEC
1996 to 2000 Honda Civic w/K20A2 Swap 2.0L VTEC
1992 to 1995 Honda Civic w/K20A2 Swap 2.0L VTEC

And hondata supports all EU cars, with a lot more ecu types, so not only PRB ecu.
What other great features would that be then?

And 1503$ instead of 1650$ what a huge difference yes, what a joke :)

black_horse
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:57 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by black_horse » Mon May 06, 2013 11:25 am

I said no hard feelings man.

I have nothing against hondata, I have my friends using it on their B/H engines so I tought I would try one as well on my K.

AEM are 1300$, even on ebay they are not more than 1350$, while the UAE told me for 1350$ I can upgrade my ecu. Not to mention shipping charges I have to pay sending it.
When it's price for new Prb with k pro installed online about 900$.

It's their product and they are free to sell it the way they want, but when it come to choose at that rate, I beleive most if not all will go with the standalone AEM.

AEM works with all engines types. True the older AEM had issues with some models. Not the series 2.

To be honest both of them meets and exceed my needs on the features.

Anyway, no need to discuss this anymore.
Please lock this thread.
Thanks.

Nazul
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:15 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by Nazul » Tue May 07, 2013 12:17 am

Good arguments, well hondata another unsatisfied client, because of the good foreign policy :)

numbnutz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:10 am

Re: I can't buy K pro , if I'm outside US ?

Post by numbnutz » Sat May 18, 2013 4:33 pm

To the OP - why not try buying from another country? UK? TDI North or TDI South or CPL etc etc. Or maybe see if there is someone closer - failing that - buy secondhand on ebay KPRO is £500 or less now.

Also look on the honda civic type R forums - they come up quite often.

Post Reply