K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Post Reply
shiggy
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:59 pm

K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by shiggy »

Hi

One of my customer has installed old K-ProII on JDM Integra TypeR (PRC) though, he is unable to do any online commands including clear security and upload.

Unit is k-proII (serial7768), FW version 2.02. software is 4.3.3.
When connecting USB to PC, k-manager shows it's online. Green LED is solid on and red LED flashes, so normal communication.
K-manager shows ECU info when clicking on "information", so k-manager communicates to K-pro.

However, k-manager doesn't recognize the ignition switch status. status is remained "ignition off" even ignition switch is actually on.
Then all of online menu is grayed out.
Plus, status shows "error" when engine is running.

Customer is using new laptop, so the laptop is not the same one as the one when he initially used upon k-pro purchase many years ago.
K-Pro is 2, so unable to register in k-manager.
Does he have to do register again somehow?

Please advice what's wrong with him.
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19570
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by Spunkster »

Who did the installation of the K-Pro in this ECU?

Has another K-Pro been tested in the ECU?
shiggy
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:59 pm

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by shiggy »

I did installation, I've been doing installation of hundreds of boards including k-100 and I tested all pins connection during installation so I believe the connection should be OK.

So far only one k-pro board with him and no stock with me as well, so haven't tested with another k-pro board unfortunately
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19570
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by Spunkster »

If ignition turning on is not detected, it is usually an issue with the ECU. I would recommend that you get the ECU back and test again.
shiggy
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:59 pm

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by shiggy »

I see, then I will get ECU back for test, do you have any idea which part of ECU (or k-pro) board should be checked?
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19570
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by Spunkster »

You will need to try the K-Pro in a different ECU and see if it works as it should. You may also need to try a different K-Pro with this ECU to see if it is the ECU or the K-Pro. If the ECU is damaged, then the ECU will have to be replaced.
shiggy
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:59 pm

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by shiggy »

Engine still starts with this ECU, so ECU itself should be OK I guess though I don't have access to another k-pro so far....
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19570
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: K-proII not working with current version of k-manager?

Post by Spunkster »

The engine just starting with the ECU does not mean that the ECU is good. You must upload and datalog with the ECU/K-Pro.
Post Reply