S300 stops datalogging after a few seconds...

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
Driven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:55 pm

S300 stops datalogging after a few seconds...

Post by Driven » Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:02 pm

Hope this hasn't been covered elsewhere... BUT...

I bought a P28 OBD1 ecu with the s300 in it recently. Engine is a B16A3 in a '88 Civic sedan.
bought a EeePC netbook (XP SP3, 1gb ram, blah blah) to run SManager.
Plugged the USB into the laptop, got the USB driver installed.
SManager shows the ECU is online. the popup saying I can datalog displays.

BUT, I'll start datalogging... see everything working as it should... then after 5-10 seconds, it'll stop. I'll pull the USB cable, reconnect, and I'm able to datalog again... but only for 5-10secs again.

What could be the problem? bad socketing? bad wiring? Spark plugs? I've uninstalled the drivers and reinstalled, no luck.

andrewd_89
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by andrewd_89 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:00 am

Plug something else into that usb port on your laptop say a wireless mouse and see if it shuts off after 5-10 seconds...you may have a problem with the task scheduler on your laptop

Driven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:55 pm

Post by Driven » Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:51 pm

andrewd_89 wrote:Plug something else into that usb port on your laptop say a wireless mouse and see if it shuts off after 5-10 seconds...you may have a problem with the task scheduler on your laptop
Tried it... worked fine... even tried an external harddrive and same results.


I'm thinking it might be related to the spark plugs/wires/cap/rotor.
I had that all replaced with quality autozone parts (ha!) and I read up on here that it might be a problem.

So, looks like I need to replace all of that stuff with OEM and see if it works. Also, the on-board datalogging isn't working either... but, I'm not sure if it's already used up all of it's write-capabilities since it's used... :(

any other suggestions are more than appreciated

andrewd_89
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:20 pm

Post by andrewd_89 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:03 am

did you buy resistor plugs? and to see if your onboard dataloging is used up click "download datalog recordings from ecu".

VT-Doo
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:49 pm
Location: Stirling, Scotland

Post by VT-Doo » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:57 am

Interference,
i was getting interference from my power adapter i had powering my laptop from the cigarette lighter.
Ian


Morris Mini (B18C-R)
Honda Civic Type R (FD2)
Honda Civic Type R (FK2)

Driven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:55 pm

Post by Driven » Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:51 pm

andrewd_89 wrote:did you buy resistor plugs? and to see if your onboard dataloging is used up click "download datalog recordings from ecu".
I downloaded all of the datalog recordings and cleared them out... since it was a used ecu.

Not sure if I got resistor plugs... one of the joys of buying autozone stuff. But, it's all starting to make sense since, when I went to get the car smogged, the smog guy said the car is misfiring periodically... which could mean the autozone parts don't work as precisely as OEM or the S300 would like.

I'll post up after I get me some OEM honda parts installed if I'm still running into issues.

Driven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:55 pm

Post by Driven » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:01 pm

nevermind, I have NGK spark plugs in there:
BKR6EIX-11

BUT, do have autozone's duralast/valucraft spark wires, and no name cap/rotor.

Will that cause a problem?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17992
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:38 am

Very possible that they will be the cause of the problem.

Poey2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:22 pm

Post by Poey2 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:35 pm

Did you solve your problem? I am having the same problem.. It would datalog for a few seconds and stop.

Im running out of ideas.

GSRRR
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:30 am

Post by GSRRR » Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:35 pm

I've had the same problem too. I'm thinking it might be the laptop. I've used 4 different laptops with my ECU, and 2 of them stop datalogging after a couple of seconds.

The other two laptops can datalog non-stop without any problems. My guess is that it could be a software or driver issue. Try another laptop and see if you have the same problem.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17992
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:40 pm

It is not a software or driver issue. Some laptops are more susceptible to interference than others. Anything aftermarket in the ignition system is the source of the problem in 90% of all cases. The other remaining causes are usually wire tucks.

Post Reply