NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

I HAVE A NEW LAPTOP AND WHEN I TRY TO INSTALL HONDATA S300 ON MY WINDOWS 8, IT GOES THROUGH THE MOTIONS, THEN SAYS ERROR
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19685
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Spunkster »

What exactly is the error?
JMCFab
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:31 pm

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by JMCFab »

Windows 8 is a tough OS, but it may run via Compatibility mode. May want to try turning off User Account Control as well.

IMHO I would go to Windows 7 on the machine so long as there is driver support. If you have Windows 8 Pro, it's free, if you have the basic one, its $100 for a "downgrade" license which is really an upgrade license.

If you right click the setup exe and go to the compatibility tab you can set it to Windows 7 and retry the installer. I would disable any AV/security software you have temporarily for the install as well if it is blocking any of the processes.

There is a pattern:
Windows 3.1 - great
Windows 95 - bad
Windows 98 - great
Windows Me - bad
Windows XP - great
Windows Vista - bad
Windows 7 - great
Windows 8..........take a wild guess lol

Post up how you make out.
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

I hope I got the screen shot. now this is coming up for an error
Attachments
Screenshot (1).png
Screenshot (1).png (306.77 KiB) Viewed 3493 times
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19685
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Spunkster »

Delete the directory it is trying to install into and then reboot and install.
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

Spunkster wrote:Delete the directory it is trying to install into and then reboot and install.
ok I did that, and it let me install but as soon as I hit the finish button it said error agian
Attachments
Screenshot (2).png
Screenshot (2).png (181.82 KiB) Viewed 3487 times
Screenshot (3).png
Screenshot (3).png (309.24 KiB) Viewed 3487 times
JMCFab
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:31 pm

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by JMCFab »

Did it launch once you closed out of the error message and tried to load it from the Start Menu/Desktop Icon?
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19685
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Spunkster »

Remove any antivirus software as it is interfering with the executable. Then reinstall Smanager.
LDForget
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 4:40 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by LDForget »

i tried installing it on a windows 8 AMD processor laptop before and it failed. Apparently only Intel processors are supported. Make sure your laptop has an intel processor.
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

JMCFab wrote:Did it launch once you closed out of the error message and tried to load it from the Start Menu/Desktop Icon?

it did not. I tried and gave me same error code
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

LDForget wrote:i tried installing it on a windows 8 AMD processor laptop before and it failed. Apparently only Intel processors are supported. Make sure your laptop has an intel processor.
im not 100 percent super savy on computers but this says its an intel inside core i7
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

Spunkster wrote:Remove any antivirus software as it is interfering with the executable. Then reinstall Smanager.

I will remove any antivirus and then delete the smanager and then reboot and try to reinstall. thanks I will get back in a few
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

smh.. still the same thing... same error code 0
User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19685
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Spunkster »

You must still have internet protection or antivirus software running.
Magic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:56 am

Re: NEED HELP TO INSTALL ON WINDOWS 8

Post by Magic »

Spunkster wrote:You must still have internet protection or antivirus software running.

nope. I have had multiple ppl come by and make sure all is deleted. still the same error code!!

DOES ANYONE HAVE S300 ON THERE WINDOWS 8????
Post Reply