Biginner Questions

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
I got thru the Registration fine.

When I picked my engine, it's a jdm b18c gsr. So I picked that, but....now I realize when I ordered the assembled P72 with the hondata, that P72 is a USDM rectangular shaped instead of the square jdm p72 that came with the engine.

So when I pick the engine at the beginning of the new callibration, I should pick the usdm b18c instead of the jdm version? Now that I've got the USDM P72?
.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18624
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by Spunkster »

Do you have a s300 or an s300j?

The calibration you use is not dependent on the ECU used.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
This is what my sales slip says:
Hondata S300 V3 Package w p72 ECU

...but I wouldn't know the difference. I just told them the engine and car....and that I wanted the rectangular ecu so it'd mount in the car better than the square one.

jdm b18c, 90 Integra LS. They did the rest. I had to think they (swap shop racing) knew better than me. I've done a lot of work on this car, but never had any ecu errors or harness issues with the b18a1....no experience in that area. Most of my work on this car was suspension related. I changed every bushing in the car, and more....
.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18624
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by Spunkster »

open the ecu and post a picture of the inside.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
I just berried the p72 and went for my first semi-lengthy test drive so I don't want to pull the carpet, shield and top case off, so I called swapshop. They said the J model is for the jdm square ecm, which I didn't order on purpose.

It is the US ecm with s300 v3, no "J".
.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
Does anyone know? Even though the engine is a jdm b18c, should I upload the us version because I'm using a us version p72?

Thanks
.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18624
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by Spunkster »

Use the calibration based on your engine.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
Ok, I had to look for myself....if the wiki page is correct, they had slightly different specs.

jdm b18c
Compression: 10.6:1
Red Line: 8000 rpm

US b18c1
Compression: 10.0:1
Redline: 8100 rpm

I don't know if the wiki page is correct, but that'd be the reason why I need to use the jdm base map.
I don't just do what i'm told, I've got'a have the reason.

Thanks
.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
When I open a new calibration for 92-95 JDM B18C, In Parameters/Misc

sometimes these two are checked off and sometimes blank. Why would it change?

Disable Injector Error
Disable barometric pressure sensor

....and with the base map opened by default are they checked or not checked?

Thanks
.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18624
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by Spunkster »

they may need to be disabled depending on if the ECU they are used in have the circuitry. IF you get the errors then you will need to disable them.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
I've only uploaded one base map...and drove it. It ran very well.

How would I find out if they were disabled or not? Can you download the current basemap the ECU is using?
Thanks
.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

Will the s300 software and drivers run on windows10?
I might want a small laptop or tablet just for this purpose.
THX

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18624
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by Spunkster »

Yes you can download the calibration by going to the online menu and click on download.

It will work in Windows 10.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
Thx, that helps.

I'm having difficulty getting the idle down.

I've had to adjust the iacv to half way between normal and zero, and turned the idle screw not far from closed...just to get to 840 rpms. And of course time the ignition.

I've also noticed from watching the display gauges, the AF steadily goes from 70 to 80....over and over.

When I installed this 96 jdm b18c I cleaned both the TB and IACV, but this TB has no fitv...I converted everything to obd1.

Any ideas?
.

90TegGSR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:19 am

Re: Biginner Questions

Post by 90TegGSR »

.
I was going to upload the datalog at startup and warming up, but it says the file is too big....23mbs. Bigger then I thought. Can't find a way to edit or trim it down.

Here's one at almost warmed up.
01-21 Warmed up.s3d
(1.65 MiB) Downloaded 11 times

Post Reply