ECT temps reading wrong in hondata

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
Boosted91
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:25 pm

ECT temps reading wrong in hondata

Post by Boosted91 » Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:33 am

Does any one know why when i am driving around hondata reports my ECT to be 206-208 yet my car is actually running 180 to 190? any ideas? yes i have the newest release.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17861
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:11 am

It all depends on where it is taking the temp reading. How do you know it's 180-190?

Boosted91
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:25 pm

Post by Boosted91 » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:18 am

how can i change where it reads from? we tested the temps using laser readers and my thermostat is a 180. my dash gauge never goes up more then 1/4th as well. i need to get this sorted so i can properly set up the ign compensations. one last thing i have done is turned the fan on and the hondata still says 206 to 208, when ambient temps are in the 30s, that just cant be right. the car is practically cycling the thermostat at that point.

Boosted91
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:25 pm

Post by Boosted91 » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:45 am

does any one know which sending unit on a d series that hondata reads from? is it the same one as the dash gauge reads from ? i doubt its the sending unit but i have to start some where.

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:50 am

Boosted91 wrote:does any one know which sending unit on a d series that hondata reads from? is it the same one as the dash gauge reads from ? i doubt its the sending unit but i have to start some where.
hondata reads the temp from the ECT sensor on the thermostat housing

part 12 on this page
https://www.hondapartsdeals.com/honda_p ... nent=E++15

V-Spec race development
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:41 am

Post by V-Spec race development » Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:57 am

No you are wrong, hondata gets the temperature from the sensor on the head right next to the single wire temp. for the gauge. Part # 13 on that picture.

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:14 pm

oh hey, learn something new everyday!

GSR230
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:11 pm
Contact:

Post by GSR230 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:32 pm

speaking of ect....I'm getting roughly 199-206 ect's just sitting/idle. Is this normal?

hybridcivicls-t
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:45 am
Location: tx
Contact:

Post by hybridcivicls-t » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:53 pm

GSR230 wrote:speaking of ect....I'm getting roughly 199-206 ect's just sitting/idle. Is this normal?
that's what i cruise and boost at..So i think it's high. whats your fan set up?

GSR230
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:11 pm
Contact:

Post by GSR230 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:31 pm

its a lsvtec 12:1 cr, skunk pro1 cam, etc. i haven't driven the car on the road yet I'm tuning the idle. It has the stock rad and fans. I'm thinking because I'm just sitting for 30-1hr not moving it gets that high?

V-Spec race development
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:41 am

Post by V-Spec race development » Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:13 am

I think the hondata is reading it higher than it suppose to. I have a defi BF temperature gauge and the highest reading on this gauge is 90* celsius w/c is 194* f. while the datalogs showing i"m 202*f w/c is to me is not right.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17861
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:33 am

There is nothing wrong with the way the temperatures are being read. The difference in the readings is probably because of where you are taking the readings.

DOHCAccord
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:33 am

Post by DOHCAccord » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:25 pm

at 94 degrees ambient i pull 206-209 at idle, and like 190-198 driving, i hope thats ok, but go knows

Locked