Closed loop and wideband.

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
FrodoGT
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:45 pm

Closed loop and wideband.

Post by FrodoGT »

So I have an AEM Wideband and I have been running the 0-5v output to d14 (o2) to tune with. However I was wondering if it was possible to use the wideband to run in closed loop? I have set it up and yet nothing happens, no short trim or long.

I attached a screen shot of my settings if it helps any.
Attachments
closed loop.jpg
closed loop.jpg (90.53 KiB) Viewed 2536 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19103
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster »

No you cannot run in closed loop from a wideband signal. It will not work. You can only run in closed loop from a narrow band signal. The AEM can only output one signal at a time. This is why we only recommend the PLX widebands (they have both narrowband and wideband).

FrodoGT
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:45 pm

Post by FrodoGT »

I understand the issue with the single output on the aem. I just thought that using a wideband signal could somehow be more accurate in keeping a target AFR. I guess Ill put my narrowband back in and run them both, no biggie.

laziebun
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:59 pm

Post by laziebun »

im not really understanding this close and open loop. i tryed to read about it but still doesnt make any sence to me at all. Can someone on here put it in a ABC for me?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19103
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster »


killer2239
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:05 am

Post by killer2239 »

I am setup the same way. Have the AEM in d14 and no stock o2 sensor hooked up. Will there ever be a future upgrade of s300 to allow the wideband to be used for closed loop in its place?
2004 Honda S2000

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 19103
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster »

No. This is why we only recommend the PLX widebands as they have a wideband and narrowband output at the same time.

killer2239
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:05 am

Post by killer2239 »

Spunkster wrote:No. This is why we only recommend the PLX widebands as they have a wideband and narrowband output at the same time.
Thanks for the info Spunkster. Luckily my other friend will be going the plx route after learning this.
2004 Honda S2000

Locked