S200 loading base map

Hondata installation questions / answers / issues.
Post Reply
welltal89
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:40 pm

S200 loading base map

Post by welltal89 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:33 pm

Hi I have a s200 that came with the romeditor4 cable and a chipped p28 ecu.

It was loaded with a turbo b18 base map and I wanted to know how to load a p74 base map for my application.

Thank you in advance!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17658
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by Spunkster » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:55 am

Do you have a chip burner?

welltal89
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by welltal89 » Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:48 pm

is the chip burner the moates unit? or can I get any chip burner?

And is that all I would need to tune my car on a dyno? i.e. fuel and ignition map

or do i need to get a wideband O2 sensor?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17658
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by Spunkster » Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:28 pm

To be perfectly honest, you would be better off upgrading to the s300 from your outdated and hard to use s200. You will not need to purchase any special emulators or chip burners, and it has many more features as well.

http://www.hondata.com/s300upgradeform.html

welltal89
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by welltal89 » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:22 pm

do you know if I can return the romeditor4 cable?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17658
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by Spunkster » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:49 pm

No, it is not returnable

welltal89
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by welltal89 » Wed Sep 21, 2011 3:15 pm

ok, well if I were to sell the romeditor4 cable to someone would they have to know the serial number on the s200 that I have so they can use it?

Or could they just use my romeditor4 and take it to a tuning shop/hondata to be able to use it on their s200?

Back to my original question though, IF I were to keep the s200 JUST to tune fuel and ignition, would I need the emulator and chip burner ONLY? Or are there many other things I would need. I'm asking because my friend has the things that I would need, and I don't see the point of upgrading if I don't have to purchase anything else.

OH! and do you have a suggestion for what wideband to use?

Many thanks for all the info. you've helped me out with!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17658
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by Spunkster » Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:32 pm

YEs you need the chip burner and emulator to tune. You can sell the s200 cable, but most people will not buy it since it is for a system that has been discontinued for so long. We recommend the PLX widebands.

welltal89
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by welltal89 » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:18 pm

Ok cool!

If I were to upgrade to the s300 would everything be included with the 395 dollars with respect to integration of the s300 and my p28?

Thank you again!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17658
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S200 loading base map

Post by Spunkster » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:35 pm

yes that includes resocketing the ECU for use with the s300.

Post Reply