Is tuning necissary?

Hondata installation questions / answers / issues.
StrangerWitcandy

Is tuning necissary?

Post by StrangerWitcandy »

i want to get hondata, but im also planning on boosting in the near future, im wondering if i can just get a pre-burned rom for my application (B18C w/ p28 ECU and bolt ons) to run on for now, with no tuning and then get it tuned with my turbo setup once it all comes together? i would just wait till i turbo to get hondata at all, but right now im running a POS chip in the p28 which i want to get rid of ASAP :P thanks for any help
t2000si

Post by t2000si »

I'm pretty new to this, I just installed my s200 for the JRSC. It came with a base map which is ok. It is better and worse than my previous setup. Anyway YES I would recommend tunning to match your bolt ons. I'm not sure but I think the base maps are done on stock motors. I could be wrong, its just my opinon.
StrangerWitcandy

ive heard that hondata will suply base maps done on motors with bolt ons, but this may just be hearsay, does anyone know for sure?
Tegboy420

Post by Tegboy420 »

A motor with boltons is probably going to run just fine on a basemap designed for a stock motor. Does this mean you should treat it like it was tuned for your specific setup? No, getting your maps tuned using a wb02 is the only way to be safe.
You should be fine if you drive around on a basemap as long as you take it easy, and keep in mind that you are UNTUNED.
DaX

Post by DaX »

Your dealer / tuner should be able to supply you with a base map that is similar to your setup. While this is only designed to get you to the tuner, it may be safe to drive on it for a short while, just being careful to stay out of boost as much as possible.
StrangerWitcandy

im NOT running boost untuned, i want to run my NA motor w/ bolt-ons (like CAI, Skunk2 IM, ACT clutch, thermal R&D cat-back etc...) w/ just a base map because ive heard hondata base maps are pretty good just by themselves
fox30

Post by fox30 »