Tune or ECU??

Hondata installation questions / answers / issues.
Locked
hatchgs
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:44 pm

Tune or ECU??

Post by hatchgs » Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:58 pm

I have S200. I bought a wideband. I had my tuner adjust my old fuel map to better suit my cams i hated running 12:1 AFR @ idle and 10.5 @ WOT

The car was running fine before no cel. Rewrote the chip and now we are in limp mode. We tried many differant tunes. We tried the ecu in a differant car. Also 3 differant chips.

There is a solid red light on the blue box. Thoughts input. What could have happened to the ecu?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:23 am

When you datalog, what error codes are you getting?

hatchgs
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:44 pm

Post by hatchgs » Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:01 pm

okay we didn't datalog anything.

we tested the rom it is good
blue box is good and the wiring is good
the ecu is bad.

what is the next thing to do?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:11 pm

Well if you know it's the ecu then it's either a soldering issue or you need a new ecu.

hatchgs
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:44 pm

Post by hatchgs » Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:24 pm

could this be the culpret

Image

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:25 am

That picture is too blurry to make out anything. What are you referring to?

hatchgs
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:44 pm

Post by hatchgs » Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:15 pm

i saw a white stuff like a strach. right below that screw but i check for continuity and i heard a little beep.

i heard if i cut j1 the ecu would go back to stock. is that true? i don't believe it because that is a reason for limp mode

God's telling me to go for S300

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:51 pm

Yes cutting J1 will allow the ecu to go back to stock.

Locked