Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Calibrations for S-Manager - Use all calibrations at your own risk (dyno tuning recommended)
Post Reply
jamesfawcett
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:42 pm

Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by jamesfawcett » Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:00 pm

hi everyone,

this is my first post on here,

my engine is a B18C4 with T3 turbo and S300
this is my mini the engine is in:
Image

i bought a phearable basemap, which runs really bad.
i emailed backwards and forwards and he kept sending me new ones to try, but all just as bad,
I only wanted to be able to drive the 20 miles to the tuning place, without filling my engine with black crustyness again,
but it runs so rich im forever cleaning spark plugs and i dont trust it all that way on the motorway.

ive just had the head off and spent forever cleaning the valves and ive fitted new lower comp pistons,
i just need help adjusting the map now,
ive set it to run on closed loop with my wideband guage, which helps a bit but is this safe?
I have the intervals set very low so its constantly updating, is this dangerous for the engine?

thank you for any help you can give me :)
Attachments
s300basemapWIDEBANDNARROWER.skl
B18C4 with T3 turbo for S300
(43.2 KiB) Downloaded 195 times

megomaniac
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: ON,Canada

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by megomaniac » Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:29 am

rent a trailer.

Closed loop doesn't work well, until the open loop maps are close to tagert a/f ratio.
you need to run your car in open loop,
watching your wide band, set your idle and adjust the map + or - to get to 14.7 a/f.
keep an eye on display as well, cause the coolant compensations are going to make it runn rich until about 165 170F.
Also set base timing with timing light, I did for the first time yesterday,
make sure your not running to much fuel pressure, base fuel pressure on aftermarket regulators is set at idle, operating temp, and with out vaccum reference hooked up. confirm your injector dead times from manufacturer, and set based on base fuel pressure.
H22A4
turbo
S300

jamesfawcett
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:42 pm

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by jamesfawcett » Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:42 am

thank you for your reply,

today i tested it out in open loop, runs much much better, just horribly rich,
im going to have a go at adjusting the fuel in the tables myself today,
now that the piston rings have bedded in all the smoke has gone too

Image

i guess im just worrying alot about adjusting anything myself, but if i can get it to run less rich, that will at least get me to the tuners :)

thanks
james

megomaniac
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: ON,Canada

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by megomaniac » Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:17 pm

If you can, wire up the 5v from your wideband to datalog with ecu.
use the offset voltage to get reading to match your gauge if you need to.
then you can review your data logs, and make adjustments as nessary.
what I do is look at the estimated %change table, and recorded a/f table, and just tweak it
+ or - 3to 5% at a time, don't change anything to much at once.
and if you haven't, set your tps 0 and 100% readings.

I've got a turbo h22 in my civic, and its so close to passing emissions testing, trying again tomorrow.

sick mini too!
Image
H22A4
turbo
S300

jamesfawcett
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:42 pm

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by jamesfawcett » Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:39 am

Thank you yeah I have linked the wideband output into the ecu, I just find the software really daunting.
I've read the help file in smanager, and I read the aem tuning guide PDF too which was really interesting, I guess it's when it comes to changing things I worry :)

Thanks for your suggestion of doing it in 5% increments I'll do this, I think it was overfuelong by 43%, the wideband reading off te gauge for most of it.
I just rebuilt the engine over the last few weeks and spent forever clearing out the carbon I hope it hasent built up again :)

I remember seeing a guide once which I can't find again now,
It showed how to get the softwhere to show a blank table, then when you rev it I would fill in the values with the % or how rich or lean it was, is the the screen you mean? Do you know how to get it to show the table? Mine already has number in which is strange!

megomaniac
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: ON,Canada

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by megomaniac » Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:30 am

Image


-table showing is fuel value table for low speed map, this is the table you need to adjust to add or remove fuel.
-you can also view recorded lambda values, upside down "Y" symbol

what i do is select the the cells i want to adjust on the fuel value table, then right click, then click adjust.

three options, I use percentage adjustment ( + or - )
H22A4
turbo
S300

jamesfawcett
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:42 pm

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by jamesfawcett » Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:08 pm

Thank you once again!

i have been out and had a play with this, quite enjoyed it!!
ive managed to get alot closer than what it was, its nolonger running rich constantly,

my idle is still going off the guage at fully rich,

Image

but cruising at 30/40mph now, or 80mph its at a nice steady 14.7

is there anything i can do for the idle? do you just adjust the cells that it sits on when idling, and keep reducing fuel until it idles at 14.7?

thanks :)

megomaniac
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: ON,Canada

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by megomaniac » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:57 pm

jamesfawcett wrote:is there anything i can do for the idle? do you just adjust the cells that it sits on when idling, and keep reducing fuel until it idles at 14.7?

thanks :)
thats exactly what i do, just be sure its at operating temp,
i like to set up the coolant temp compensations, and air intake compensations in the display window, so I can see
if the ecu is dumping in more fuel cause it's not warmed up yet.

I'm using injector dynamics 1000cc injectors, I found the table for low load/ idle open loop water temp compensations was too aggressive for my injectors, causing excessive rich condition on warm up cycle.
Image
H22A4
turbo
S300

megomaniac
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: ON,Canada

Re: Piston change - Need help adjusting my turbo basemap

Post by megomaniac » Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:07 pm

when you go to make changes to your fuel tables, be sure you are looking at the fuel table and not
the timing map.

there is a high speed timing, low speed timing
high speed fuel , low speed fuel

the difference bewteen high and low speed map is vtec

in vtec is high
not in vtec is low

just wanted to make sure as table in your screen shot was low speed timing.

save your changes, and upload to take effect,
once you get a tune, save a copy on a flash drive or something just in case
H22A4
turbo
S300

Post Reply