Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the FN2 European Civic Type R
tiozes
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:35 pm

Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by tiozes » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:37 pm

hi, I'm riding my turbo FN2 and wanted to put the solenoid to control the pressure, but it seems it FN2 ECU does not have that option, so I could confirm?

Because I bought a controller apexi avc-r.

regards

PS: sorry for my English I'm Spanish

Touge Master
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:08 am

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Touge Master » Mon Mar 10, 2014 3:43 am

I you have an Apexi AVC-R why you not just use it to control boost pressure?
Kouzan Racing Engineering

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Spunkster » Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:51 am

All Race FN2 calibrations have boost control.

tiozes
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by tiozes » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:20 pm

Spunkster wrote:All Race FN2 calibrations have boost control.

Highlights saw on a forum, you can not install the solenoid and the ECU had to put another.

sass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Evropa-Estonia-Tallinn

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by sass » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:13 pm

Spunkster wrote:All Race FN2 calibrations have boost control.
you are sure that boost controller will work on FN2 2007?

Should I connect solenoid's wire to pin B2 + ?

Image

Image

Image

Image
Cr-v RD8+K24A2turbo+Kpro V4 prb+NPR3/6Speed+ТС+ HFS4 v3.2.
DynoWheel = 472kW / 589 N.m
HRX One Mile Challenge = Max Speed 282km
Known as Sniper

sass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Evropa-Estonia-Tallinn

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by sass » Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:05 am

Hondata
i should change Type R ECU to FA5 Civic in order to get boost control? This is because FN2 Type R does not have it.

Image

Image

Image

add

i disconected B2 from ECU and feed it with 12V to boost solenoid. TIAL Wastegate cameras are working properly and ECU limits revs by boost data.

Image
Cr-v RD8+K24A2turbo+Kpro V4 prb+NPR3/6Speed+ТС+ HFS4 v3.2.
DynoWheel = 472kW / 589 N.m
HRX One Mile Challenge = Max Speed 282km
Known as Sniper

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Spunkster » Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:18 am

The ECU you have should work to control boost when wired correctly. One wire on the solenoid goes to ground, the other goes to B2 on the ECU. Make sure that it is no longer connected to whatever it went to and just from the ECU to the solenoid.

sass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Evropa-Estonia-Tallinn

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by sass » Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:39 am

Spunkster
solenoid is not original, it can be a problem?
Image
Cr-v RD8+K24A2turbo+Kpro V4 prb+NPR3/6Speed+ТС+ HFS4 v3.2.
DynoWheel = 472kW / 589 N.m
HRX One Mile Challenge = Max Speed 282km
Known as Sniper

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Spunkster » Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:29 pm

Please contact CPL Racing in the UK and check with them to see if the RSP ECU has this circuitry. We do not have these ECUs in the states to be able to test.

sass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Evropa-Estonia-Tallinn

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by sass » Mon May 05, 2014 4:44 am

spunkster
I checked another turbo fn2 at ECU 37820-rsp-e02
B2 boost control does not work with it too.

Here in Europe there are several models of ecu for FN2
37820-rsp-e03
37820-rsp-e12

I will try to find them

and here is interesting moment in england version of FN2 turbo
http://www.reelmotion.co.uk/cars/2012/1 ... rsion.html
ECU:

Hondata flashpro with US ECU and boost by gear
Cr-v RD8+K24A2turbo+Kpro V4 prb+NPR3/6Speed+ТС+ HFS4 v3.2.
DynoWheel = 472kW / 589 N.m
HRX One Mile Challenge = Max Speed 282km
Known as Sniper

CivicVTi
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:51 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by CivicVTi » Mon May 05, 2014 9:46 am

FN2 ECUs do not have the necessary circuitry. We use US Civic SI ECUs to control boost with this car.

sass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Evropa-Estonia-Tallinn

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by sass » Tue May 06, 2014 3:04 am

Spunkster wrote:The ECU you have should work to control boost when wired correctly. One wire on the solenoid goes to ground, the other goes to B2 on the ECU. Make sure that it is no longer connected to whatever it went to and just from the ECU to the solenoid.
I contacted them and got the answer
Hello

You need a US ECU but unfortunately we do not stock them, we have asked if Hondata can supply to us and they do not stock them either.

You will need to source this ECU direct from the USA.
If we knew before that FN boost controllers do not work we would order Flash Pro for US ECUs.
Cr-v RD8+K24A2turbo+Kpro V4 prb+NPR3/6Speed+ТС+ HFS4 v3.2.
DynoWheel = 472kW / 589 N.m
HRX One Mile Challenge = Max Speed 282km
Known as Sniper

ef9b16a1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:27 pm
Location: athens/kalamata
Contact:

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by ef9b16a1 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:14 pm

a bit late , but the usdm ecus work fine with the flashpro int version for fn 2, i have 3 cars with usdm ecus for boost control... they work fine with the flashpro -int version , i dont now if the oppossite works though , the flashpro -us , if it works with an edm rsp ecu

Jesper
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:38 am

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Jesper » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:07 am

Hi Guys

Does the FN2 have the PCB traces of the USDM SI ECU?
If so can I not just add the missing components to the FN2 ECU to drive the solenoid?

We did that on the old OBD1 non VTEC ECUs to make the into VTEC ECUs.

That way I do not have to buy a USDM ECU and a new flashpro.

Best regards
Jesper

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Install solenoid FN2 ECU 2007

Post by Spunkster » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:09 am

These ecus cannot be opened and modified as they are sealed from the factory.

Post Reply