Page 1 of 2

Very large datalog

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:54 am
by dinoc
Hi,

I've noticed sometimes when doing datalog the size of the log file is huge.
Usually when dataloging 20-25 min the size of the log is ~ 2-4 Megabytes.
But yesterday I made a longer datalog for 45min and the resulted log file was abnormally high like 400 Megabytes.
It happened to me twice out of 100 datalogs.
I put a datalog like this here (is a zip archived): https://www.dropbox.com/s/8o4ovdf553hxr ... g.zip?dl=0
The log was made with the Flashpro unit only (not with the laptop) with the default fast settings.

Do you guys have encountered such issue?

I have the Bluetooth Flashpro unit.

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:56 am
by Hondata
Normally FlashProManager compresses datalogs. However, once the datalogs reach a certain size (around 400 MB), Windows does not have enough memory to compress the datalog so the datalog is saved uncompressed. That's why you see a big jump in size.

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:54 am
by dinoc
Good to know, thank you!

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:53 pm
by R3KONT3K
so is there a way to compress it? - my tuner (VitViper) only allows 50mb uploads (ill see what he can do at the moment to receive it) - but I've done it twice now with 20-25 min drives and file size is 408,469kb compared to a similar upload (last week) 20-min drive but was only 4,376kb?

also before uploading and data logging this tune - I did update FP Manager

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:34 am
by typer86
Yes I can confirm this too!
If the datalog is bigger then 22 or 24 minutes it will be saved without compression.
FYI I have 8gb of ram in my windows 10 surface4 and 5 or 4gb are free ...

Few Version ago I could record 35minutes including compression

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:12 pm
by R3KONT3K
yeah same here - I could easily do 25 mins of aggressive driving and have the file compressed automatically

seems like I'm going to have to roll back my version or something

I did two datalogs 1-23mins , 1-15mins - all came in huge and uncompressed - so.....yeah

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:24 pm
by R3KONT3K
Hondata wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:56 am
Normally FlashProManager compresses datalogs. However, once the datalogs reach a certain size (around 400 MB), Windows does not have enough memory to compress the datalog so the datalog is saved uncompressed. That's why you see a big jump in size.

before update to 2.9.0.0 I could easily do 25 mins of aggressive driving and have the file compressed automatically

I did two datalogs 1-23mins , 1-15mins - all came in huge and uncompressed

same pc throughout tuning process - i5, 16/gb-ram, win10

is there anything I can try - (2.9.1.1) just hit so i'll maybe try to re-log again and see what happens - but Vit' can't accept my tune at all when uncompressed.

thank you in advance

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:26 pm
by Spunkster
If you are using a 64bit version of Windows, try this:

Right click on the shortcut you are using to launch FlashPro manager, and click properties, then under target, change "FlashProManager.exe" to "FlashProManager64.exe".

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:07 am
by R-12914
Spunkster wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:26 pm
If you are using a 64bit version of Windows, try this:

Right click on the shortcut you are using to launch FlashPro manager, and click properties, then under target, change "FlashProManager.exe" to "FlashProManager64.exe".
I have already try this, but it makes no differences in the size of the datalogs!

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:54 pm
by GMGarcia
I am also having this issue. I'm also being tuned by VIT and usually can do a 20-25min drive no problem however it won't compress now and can't send him my datalogs anymore

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:45 am
by Hondata
See my post from 2015. Windows only can use around 3 GB of memory, no matter how much is actually installed, so it will run out when saving the datalog. As more sensors are added for 2016 vehicles the length of datalog has decreased before the threshold is reached.
We'll try to tweak the setting for the next release.

Flashpro Datalog Upload Issue

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:51 am
by _mike_fg4_
I believe their is a flashpro glitch that is saving data logs as large files unable to be sent via email. It’s turning logs that are usually 3k kb in size to 320k kb. The datalogs are showing the “normal” data size in the datalog window of Flashpro, however once they are downloaded to the computer, the size of the file increases in size. I’ve re done a calibration and shortened the log and it still saves as a large file

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:43 pm
by Sixtoeren
Is this fixed yet? If not how do I revert back to an older rev that works?

Re: Very large datalog

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:41 pm
by Spunkster
If you download the beta version this should be fixed.

Re: FlashProManager V3.0.1

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:26 am
by John_fa5
Hi,

Yesterday I had updated the firmware on FlashPro Manager and Flashpro to 3.0.1.0. Now it's not compressing my files and leave me with a huge datalog that Im unable to upload. I had did a similar log the previous day before the update and everything was fine and uploaded and saved fine. How can I compress my file to be able to send to Vit?