What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

FlashPro Manager software
shind3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by shind3 » Thu May 12, 2016 9:32 am

R-12914 wrote:The new feature is very faulty like this:
http://www.hondata.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 135#p87135
Same issue here too.

SlowTeg
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by SlowTeg » Fri May 13, 2016 12:05 pm

So you couldn't get the parameters to save with any map? The smaller lookup table looks to save, but I didn't try the larger "main" table. I wanted to try it out this weekend but better not to try messing with it in case there's some other strange operation.

Maybe I'll load a map on and try it out.. I'm on the fence as I don't want things acting strangely on track this weekend, especially if I can't flash it back due to a poor internet connection..

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17998
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Spunkster » Fri May 13, 2016 12:26 pm

Please download 2.3.9 from the software section of the website. This will allow the changes you make to be saved.

User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by R-12914 » Sat May 14, 2016 12:12 am

Ok, thank you!
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

SlowTeg
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by SlowTeg » Mon May 16, 2016 1:16 pm

I tried out the new FW at the track this weekend and just wanted to say thanks to Hondata. The throttle is much more linear and how I've always expected/wanted it to be.

shind3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by shind3 » Mon May 16, 2016 7:50 pm

Yeah, I was bummed to see the main throttle table values revert back to stock and ignore my tuned curves for low speed drivability and torque matching at high rpm/load. But, since the new table has speed as an axis, I figured now would be a good chance to try them out. So, I basically just did a -30% on all but the last column on the new speed vs pedal table and I think the throttle is just about perfect now for low speed stuff. I haven't really gotten to test the torque matching at high rpm/load yet but after a few laps this Wednesday, I should know more. This throttle body is pretty big for this engine so I still max out MAP way before WOT at high rpm and was trying to gain a bit more sensitivity in that regard.

Anyway, thanks again Hondata.


SlowTeg, do you mind sharing how you tuned your throttle tables?

Gernby
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Gernby » Tue May 17, 2016 6:01 am

The last few posts are making me nervous. Does the new functionality change the way a prior tune will load, if it has a customized throttle map? If so, that will shut down my eTuning business.
'06 NFR S2000

SlowTeg
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by SlowTeg » Tue May 17, 2016 7:16 am

shind3 wrote:SlowTeg, do you mind sharing how you tuned your throttle tables?
I didn't do anything fancy honestly. I did it at midnight the night before my track day Sunday so I didn't spend a whole lot of time on it. I forget what multiplier I used, something like just a .8 multiplier for many of the columns, and maybe .9 for the final column before the 96%. I'll post em up later, but I was in a rush and didn't spend much time on it. Being able to edit the smaller speed/throttle "lookup table" is what really made the big difference as a 62% TPedal value would get increased to a 82% TPlate value which killed the resolution at higher speeds. I did a quick datalog on the way to the track that things were working as I expected and that was it.

You have a good point that the large TB results in maxing out the MAP value at much less than WOT. This is pretty typical for most hondas to my knowledge, but even without any large scaling on my part, the difference is night and day thanks to modifying the new table. For the new speed/throttle table, I just kept the throttle %'s linear, and didn't have them increase with speed.

SlowTeg
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by SlowTeg » Tue May 17, 2016 7:19 am

Gernby wrote:The last few posts are making me nervous. Does the new functionality change the way a prior tune will load, if it has a customized throttle map? If so, that will shut down my eTuning business.
If you're relying on a previous custom throttle map loading, I would say be careful before moving to the new firmware because it wiped them out for me. The new table uses new index values and correctly labels the X-axis now so you no longer need to factor in your (rough) 1.5x multiplier.

Depending on what you're doing with the throttle tables, hopefully you can just rescale the throttle tables as needed with the newer firmware and you should be good to go. Of course it could be a decent amount of work on your end..

Gernby
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Gernby » Tue May 17, 2016 7:24 am

Argh... That means that every S2000 I've done a tune for will have their throttle mapping change if they update to the new FlashPro Manager.
'06 NFR S2000

shind3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by shind3 » Tue May 17, 2016 10:09 am

Yeah Gernby, not sure if this is a feature or a bug. But you could copy the values from a previous version, multiply them by 1.5 in Excel and copy them back. That will get you back to your tuned values with the new hex formula.

Gernby
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Gernby » Tue May 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Hondata, would you please add some sort of migration process that will correctly upgrade the old table data, so that older tunes don't need to be manually corrected?
'06 NFR S2000

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Hondata » Tue May 17, 2016 1:53 pm

The values from previous versions are not loaded - this is by design in order to limit our liability. I can add a conversion process but it would not be until the next software version.
Hondata

Gernby
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Gernby » Tue May 24, 2016 7:36 am

Hondata wrote:The values from previous versions are not loaded - this is by design in order to limit our liability. I can add a conversion process but it would not be until the next software version.
When might that next version be available? It seems that my eTuning business will be suspended until then.

Basically, my etuning process relies heavily on specialized throttle maps, so that my clients can capture datalogs at controlled load levels. If FlashPro Manager resets the throttle maps, the datalogs become useless to me.
'06 NFR S2000

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8771
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: What exactly does tplate % represent in datalogs?

Post by Hondata » Tue May 24, 2016 8:50 am

Throttle tables saved and loaded in the current version do not need conversion and are not reset to default.

Gernby: Can you email us some calibrations for testing?
Hondata

Post Reply