Rdx big turbo maxing out maf

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the 2007-2012 Acura RDX
Locked
779civic
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: coweta

Rdx big turbo maxing out maf

Post by 779civic » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:12 pm

I have an 07 rdx. It has a precision 5971, id1000 injectors, 3in intake, fmic, tial wg and bov, full turbo back 3in exhaust, flashpro, dw65c, and e85.

When I got this set up done. I was running off the wastegate at 10psi. Everything worked good. The other day I added another spring to get around 15-16 psi. But now I'm getting a p0103 maf circuit high code. And from what I gather. It's maxing out the maf sensor.

I have tried moving the sensor further away from the turbo. And increasing and decreasing the maf values in flashpro. But still get the code right after 6k rpm. Any help would be appreciated

779civic
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: coweta

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by 779civic » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:01 pm

Changed the maf sensor with a new one from Acura today. Still the same code. Guess I'm going to put a smaller spring in and see if 13-14 psi will work.

779civic
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: coweta

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by 779civic » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:40 pm

Just changed to 3.5 intake and maf housing. Haven't had the code yet. Hopefully it's fixed and I can get a tune.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8766
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by Hondata » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:52 pm

If it is maxing out the AFM then you can only reduce the flow past the sensor (larger diameter tube) or build a voltage divider. The ECU can't control the voltage coming out of the AFM.
Hondata

Alex F
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 12:39 pm

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by Alex F » Fri May 26, 2017 1:30 pm

Hey.
Installed injectors 1000cc. The diameter of the flowmeter is 4 ".
Using the mass flow calibration, I adjusted the AFM. But I had to prescribe the current injector size of 650cc.
Now s.trim +/- 2%.
Problem, the fuel flow sensor shows wrong values. When the fuel level in the tank drops below 1/2, the pointer of the sensor immediately drops to zero. It can be fixed?

779civic
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: coweta

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by 779civic » Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:42 am

Not sure if I'm understanding this or not. But it almost sounds like you have a problem with the float in the tank. I had a similar issue when I installed my fuel pump. One of the hoses pulled the float and bent it. Might want to check that.

Bills07si
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:27 pm

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out AFM

Post by Bills07si » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:27 pm

779civic wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:40 pm
Just changed to 3.5 intake and maf housing. Haven't had the code yet. Hopefully it's fixed and I can get a tune.
So you did not have a issue with the trans shifting really weird immediently after installing the larger maf housing ?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8766
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Rdx big turbo maxing out maf

Post by Hondata » Tue May 22, 2018 12:06 pm

Hondata

Locked