another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

FlashPro Manager software
Post Reply
09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:55 pm

Ok new on the forum but here is my problem.

After screwing with drivers, uninstalling/reinstalling FP manager, I finally got it to lock to the car. The ECU is locked to the FP. I bring it in to register with HOndata and it immediately pops up that it cannnot, the module isn't ready.
I 'think' I successfully updated the firmware of the FP but there isn't anywhere I've found to check this.
I updated FP manager to 1.2.4.0.

What is next?!

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8783
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by Hondata » Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:41 pm

Your wininet.dll file (part of the window operating system) is missing, corrupt or the wrong version. Normally this is because a virus has hijacked the file, anti-virus software has deleted the file, or an installation/un-installation of internet explorer has done something to the file.
Hondata

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:52 pm

Hondata wrote:Your wininet.dll file (part of the window operating system) is missing, corrupt or the wrong version. Normally this is because a virus has hijacked the file, anti-virus software has deleted the file, or an installation/un-installation of internet explorer has done something to the file.
Ok that makes sense. So I need to reinstall Internet Explorer?
B

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8783
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by Hondata » Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:17 am

It's a little more complex than that. For a start try:

- Uninstall all 'toolbar' software and similar (google, bing, ask, yahoo, aol etc or anything else which is a toolbar or search helper). pcdecrapifier http://pcdecrapifier.com/ can help with this.
- Uninstall all anti-virus software - there may be more than one present on a new computer.
- Download and install microsoft security essentials.
- Do a system scan.
- Run windows update and install all critical / recommended updates.
- Update internet explorer, even if you don't use internet explorer as your browser, because wininet.dll is often updated as part of ie.
Hondata

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:04 am

Hondata wrote:It's a little more complex than that. For a start try:

- Uninstall all 'toolbar' software and similar (google, bing, ask, yahoo, aol etc or anything else which is a toolbar or search helper). pcdecrapifier http://pcdecrapifier.com/ can help with this.
- Uninstall all anti-virus software - there may be more than one present on a new computer.
- Download and install microsoft security essentials.
- Do a system scan.
- Run windows update and install all critical / recommended updates.
- Update internet explorer, even if you don't use internet explorer as your browser, because wininet.dll is often updated as part of ie.
Ok I'll do this right now and get back to you as soon as it's done.
B

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:47 am

Ok I've done all this, even uninstalled/reinstalled FP again, and same error.

I couldn't find a point where I could update IE9. I'm looking for an 'update now' but haven't located it yet.. grrr.
B

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8783
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by Hondata » Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Do a search for wininet.dll in the C:\Windows\System32 directory. Normally windows won't show the file, and even then in may be corrupted or the wrong version, so your best bet might be to register the FlashPro on another computer.
Hondata

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:45 pm

Ok I've moved to computer #2. FP manager installs fine but the program freezes while trying to install the USB driver. I'll try a 3rd computer :(
B

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:40 am

OK SUccess! I got the FP to register with Hondata. Now, the problem is I can't upload the calibration to the FP. It says I need to check that I have FPManager up to date.
I go Help/check for updates and it says "FP manager is up to date 1.1.9.6" I know there are newer versions, but they won't come up... So I still cannot flash the ECU.
B

09CivicSiBrian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by 09CivicSiBrian » Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:50 am

It seems like I finally got it! Hooray!

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8783
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: another Can't register FP w/ Hondata thread...

Post by Hondata » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:17 am

You need to download and install the beta version.
Hondata

Post Reply