Flashing my ecu

Hondata model coverage & ECU application questions.
Post Reply
mwbaldwin05
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:09 am

Flashing my ecu

Post by mwbaldwin05 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:23 pm

I have a 92 prelude that I'm working on...it will be awhile before the major modifications begin. Either way I want to change some things from stock. I keep hearing that I need a Honda Civic ECU in order to flash it...but wouldn't that cause more problems than benefit? I don't know enough about ECU issues and piggybacking. What do I need to do. And please be very specific. I feel like a kindergartener when it comes to electronics and tuning.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17854
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Flashing my ecu

Post by Spunkster » Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:20 pm

To use a Hondata system, you will need to use a compatible OBD1 ecu from the list at http://www.hondata.com/ecus.html. You can then use the Hondata s300 ( https://www.hondata.com/index.php?_route_=s300 ).

We don't sell most products directly, but you can order some accessories from our website, or any of our products from any of the dealers listed on our website ( https://www.hondata.com/dealers ) and they can ship it to you.

mwbaldwin05
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:09 am

Re: Flashing my ecu

Post by mwbaldwin05 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:53 pm

Does it matter which ECU for the prelude? I'm afraid of spending money on a paper weight.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17854
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Flashing my ecu

Post by Spunkster » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:39 pm

Any of those ECUs will work.

Post Reply